Before you know it, there you are.

When I started my first book I was still working. I was getting maybe a page or two written as I could, maybe a little more on weekends. When I became unemployed, after I got through the initial depression of losing a job, I had much more time on my hands. I was finally able to write. I always found time to write, even if it were just for an hour a day.

I think one of the important things I learned on this journey is not to kid myself about time. There is no way I’m going to sit down and bang out a novel in a week. They take time, a lot of time. Even with the 40 extra hours I had every week I still took months to complete the first draft.

Once I dedicated myself to that process, the more time I found myself spending on the writing. It seemed like the time went faster the further along I got in novel and before I knew it, I was there. The end.

It’s easy to get discouraged. I know I have been there. Just dedicate time to the process and…Just keep writing.

2 Comments

Filed under Author to Author, Concept to creation, General Conversation

2 responses to “Before you know it, there you are.

  1. Sherry, I know what you mean regarding discouragement. In a writing class I was taking, I was the only person working a full time job – needless to say my output was less than other class members. I was feeling particularly down. My instructor said that writing doesn’t always happen when we are sitting in front of the computer screen. She advised that the creative process could happen anywhere – driving down the road – cooking dinner – it didn’t matter as long as I was thinking about my story and listening to my characters. πŸ™‚

  2. That is so true. I know there have more than a few times when I sat down in front of the screen it just wasn’t happening. I still tried, even if I had to write something complete different–just a few lines of a new short story or something. Thank you so much for the words of wisdom. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

