Ramblings of a Newbie without a clue–Taking a break or walking away?

Taking a break or walking away?

As a writer, your first love is to write. You don’t really think about the publishing aspect. I mean, you want to publish. You want others to read and enjoy your work but as a new writer, you have no clue how tough it is to publish and promote your work.

Believe me, it’s a lot of work. You find yourself consumed with promoting your book. You spend more time thinking about it than you spend writing. How much is too much? Am I alienating my potential readers? Am I not posting/blogging/pushing enough? Am I doing it too much and I just appear desperate?

I think there comes a time when you have to step back and really evaluate your situation. Did I jump too fast into publishing? Where am I going with all of this? Am I truly ready to dedicate the kind of time it takes to making this as successful as I can?

Every time you take a break, you are possibly losing ground you had already started to make. So, you have to make a decision: are you taking a break, if so, it better not be a long one the market’s too crowded for you to lose too much ground or are you just going to walk away? Regroup, maybe? Start again? Re-invent? Or are you giving up?

Thoughts anyone?

Leave a comment

Filed under Author to Author, General Conversation

Leave a comment