It’s all about character

I don’t pretend to be an expert…my journey is just beginning. I have only completed and published one book. All I can do is share what I’ve learned and hope it helps someone else. As I have mentioned in previous blogs, I always loved words. Reading them and writing them. My journey began with an idea, a story about a group of teenagers trained to be a special agents. It was then I realized I had a lot of work to do. How do I turn that idea into a novel; something someone else can read and hopefully enjoy?

It was the characters I needed to know. I needed to know them intimately; how they felt, what they did, what they thought. For me to put together a successful story it was all about the characters. I developed my main characters and mapped out who they were and where they needed to go. You need to fully understand this to make your writing go anywhere. Hopefully, some of the questions I asked myself will help others.

1. Who are my characters?

2. Which character is my major focus?

3. From what perspective should this story unfold?

4. How are the characters going to interact with each other?

5. How do I want the characters to begin?

and lastly,

6. Where do I want them to end?

Understand where they came from and what the final result will be will help you in developing your overall story.

4 Comments

Filed under Concept to creation

4 responses to “It’s all about character

  1. Pingback: Stories in my mind | Words can change your life

  2. Great list of questions that need to be asked…thanks!

  3. Pingback: Finding Characters | Adventures in Fantasy

  4. Pingback: Minor to Major, what to do? | Writing = Passion

Leave a Reply

