It all starts with an idea

If you have read my welcome blog, then you know by now I have always been in love with the written word. I have been both an avid reader and a midnight writer for most of my life. From a young age, I started writing short stories and poetry. That passion grew and I grew. Now in my forties, I want to be able to share my work with others. It’s hard to get started though and I found myself asking, “where do I even start?”
It all begins with an idea. We all have them; whether they come from dreams, or just random thoughts drifting in and out of our minds but the question is, how do you turn them into a story. It all starts with an idea. One thought. My first word of advice…write. Just keep writing. When and where ever you can. Start with a character, a scene, a place, a piece of knowledge you have and expand on that.
The great thing about my first book is I started with knowledge I already had from life experience and places I already knew. I had a starting point! Once you have an idea, a starting point, you can let the story develop and don’t stop writing. You are not always going to be happy with the first draft you produce, and probably not the second one either. Just don’t stop.

1 Comment

Filed under Concept to creation

One response to “It all starts with an idea

  1. Pingback: It all starts with an idea | sastevens72

Leave a Reply

